Following the path set by AdriAtlas, this new digital atlas aims at covering the Illyricum, starting, among its many definitions, from the one given by Strabo.

 

According to the Greek geographer, the term Illyricum defined the area South of the Danube to the borders of the Greek or Greek-speaking world (Greece, Epirus, Macedonia), that means, in Imperial Roman times, the provinces of Dalmatia, Pannoniaand that part of Moesiathat will later be called Moesia Superior, together with Noricumand Roetia, inhabited by Celtic and Illyrian people.

 

At the beginning, we decided to cover the territories of five modern countries, saying, from West towards the East: Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia Herzegovina, Montenegro and Serbia, in association with our partners in Ljubljana, Zagreb and Belgrade, foreseeing a future extension towards the neighboring countries.

 

We will preserve the same chronological span, from the XI century BC to the VIII century AD. Since we did not want to establish an arbitrary limit between the Adriatic and Illyrian spaces, we preferred to partially overlap the two atlases: the sites located on the Eastern Adriatic shore, from the Slovenian border to the Albanian border, are included both in AdriAtlas and in IllyrAtlas.

 

The atlas is made of a sites DB, a WebGIS and a bibliography: this latter covers the whole adriatic and danubian space. At the present moment, only the main sites are shown in IllyrAtlas, but we are going to integrate six new databases: physical geography, people, borders, road network, linear infrastructures (fortifications, aqueducs), centuriation/cadastrial limits, all connected to the WebGIS and related with the sites DB.

 

Within its structure, the Sites DB is unchanged.

Le projet

Après AdriAtlas, ce nouvel atlas digitalisé a pour but de couvrir l’Illyrie, en partant, parmi de multiples définitions, de celle que lui donnait Strabon.

Pour le géographe grec, cela correspondait à l’espace au sud du Danube jusqu’au monde grec ou hellénophone(Grèce, Epire, Macédoine), c’est-à-dire, pour l’époque romaine impériale,  aux provinces de Dalmatie, de Pannonie et d’une partie de la Mésie (future Mésie Supérieure), mais aussi de Norique et de Rhétie, caractérisées par un peuplement celtique et illyrien.

Dans un premier temps, nous avons choisi de couvrir les territoires de cinq pays actuels, soit, d’ouest en est, la Slovénie, la Croatie, la Bosnie et Herzégovine, le Monténégro et la Serbie, en association avec nos partenaires de Ljubljana, Zagreb et Belgrade, en prévoyant une extension ultérieure aux pays voisins.

La limite chronologique reste la même, du XIe s. a.C. au VIIIe s. p.C. Plutôt que de définir une limite arbitraire entre espace adriatique et espace illyrien, nous avons préféré faire chevaucher les deux Atlas : les sites de l’Adriatique orientale, de la frontière slovène à la frontière albanaise, font partie à la fois d’AdriAtlas et d’IllyrAtlas.

L’atlas se compose d’une BDD sites, d’un géoatlas et d’une bibliographie, qui, elle, couvre l’ensemble de l’espace adriatico-danubien. Pour l’instant, seuls les principaux sites figurent dans IllyrAtlas, mais il est prévu d’intégrer par la suite six nouvelles BDD : géographie physique, peuples,  frontières, routes, infrastructures linéaires (fortifications, aqueducs), centuriations/cadastrations, toutes liés au géoatlas et à la BDD sites et interconnectées.
     Dans sa structure, la BDD Sites reste la même.